The Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is responsible for the overall management of Migros. It formulates the strategy as well as the corporate and ethical objectives. As the senior management body, the Board of Directors exercises a supervisory and control function over the conduct of business by the Executive Board.

In 2014, the Board of Directors held six meetings, each lasting between seven and nine hours. One of these meetings was convened the day before (an additional six hours). In addition to the statutory matters and periodic reporting on all strategic business units of Migros, including the individual subsidiaries, the Board of Directors approved various acquisitions and investments by Migros Industry as well as the new national collective labour agreement (N-CLA). It also organised a two-day business trip to Germany in October.

By revising its rules of organisation, the Board of Directors determined its working methods and those of its committees as well as delegating large parts of the operational management to the Executive Board. In the "Rules on Conflicts of Interest" (29 March 2014), the principles and the reporting and procedural obligations that have applied in the past were defined in detail.

Composition and Electoral Procedure

The Board of Directors is composed of 23 members: ten external, independent members and 13 internal members. The external, independent persons are the Chairman and the nine members from the business sector. Since they are employed by Migros, the Chief Executive Officer, the ten representatives of the ten regional cooperatives (normally the managing directors) and the two employee representatives are regarded as internal members.

With regard to the composition and size of the Board of Directors, Migros deviates from the guidelines of the Swiss Code of Best Practice for Corporate Governance. According to the statutes, each regional Cooperative chooses its representative and therefore decides for itself who sits on the FMC Board of Directors. This influences both the size of the body and the ratio of external to internal members. This status quo is being maintained in accordance with the decision of the Assembly of Delegates from 29 March 2014.

With the exception of the ten representatives of the regional cooperatives, who are appointed by the electoral bodies of the cooperatives, the members of the Board of Directors are elected for a four-year term of office by the Assembly of Delegates. Re-election is permitted, provided that the newly introduced maximum of four terms of office is not exceeded. The members of the Board of Directors retire on reaching the age of 70. The organisational rules of the Board of Directors do not permit the accumulation of important positions within Migros.

Working methods and powers

Decisions on the Board of Directors are passed by a simple majority of the members present – observing the usual rules for abstention. Detailed preparation and the preliminary work done by the committees mean that discussions by the 23 members of the full Board of Directors' can be conducted effectively and efficiently. All of the agenda items that a member of the Board or a committee wishes to discuss are shown on the notice convening the meeting. Those attending the meeting receive detailed documentation about the motions in writing beforehand.

The dates for the ordinary meetings are set early, so that all members can usually attend. The attendee rate was 97% in the year under review. The six members of the Executive Board, as well as the President of the G. and A. Duttweiler Foundation, also attend the meetings of the Board of Directors in an advisory capacity.

As part of a process of self-evaluation, the Board of Directors regularly reviews its own and its members' approach and performance. The findings of this evaluation are implemented on a continual basis and discussions are held regularly on the implementation status. External consultancy services are called on to advise on specific topics.

The powers of the Board of Directors include formulating the strategy and organising the financial reporting, financial control and financial planning. It is also responsible for creating efficient management and organisational structures within Migros as well as appointing and supervising the Executive Board. The Board delegates operational management to the Executive Board, under the leadership of the CEO. This also includes the overall management of the FMC's subsidiaries and other interests, whose internal board members are appointed by the members of the Executive Board. External board members, such as for Hotelplan or Migros Bank, are appointed by the FMC Board of Directors if additional expertise is needed or if required by law.

The responsibilities and remits are set out in the revised rules of organisation of the Board of Directors and in the revised directives of the committees.

All members

Committee Member since Seat until
External members (independant)
Andrea Broggini (chairman), 1956 E + N (P) 2004 2016
Doris Aebi (vice chairman), 1965 E + N, ADH 1 2003 2016
Roger Baillod, 1958 A (P) 2008 2016
Dominique Biedermann, 1958 A 2012 2016
Jean-René Germanier, 1958 E + N 2008 2016
Paola Ghillani, 1963 A, ADH 1 2008 2016
Thomas Rudolph, 1962 F 2003 2016
Ursula Schoepfer, 1956 F (P) 2004 2016
Heinz Winzeler, 1951 F 2003 2016
Hans A. Wüthrich, 1956 A 2012 2016
Internal members
Christian Biland (vice chairman), 1956 ADH 2001 31.12.2014
Max Alter, 1961 ADH 2005 2016
Patrick Avanthay, 1967 2009 2016
Jörg Blunschi, 1961 ADH 2010 2016
Herbert Bolliger, 1953 ADH (P) 1997 2016
Philippe Echenard, 1963 ADH 2014 2016
Lorenzo Emma, 1957 ADH / F 2004 2016
Marcelle Junod, 1953 ADH 2012 2016
Felix Meyer, 1959 ADH 2012 2016
Stefano Patrignani, 1963 ADH 2013 2016
Ruth Rauschenbach, 1973 2012 2016
Marc Schaefer, 1961 ADH / F 2007 2016
Beat Zahnd, 1958 ADH 2005 2016

1 strategic topics


  • A = Audit
  • R + N = Remuneration and Nominations
  • F = Finance
  • ADH = Retail Committee (divided into operational and strategic issues)
  • (S) = Steering Committee

The Board of Directors (pdf, 37.60 KB)